| | |

12 Captivating Books Like Red Rising

Spread the Love!

If you’re anything like me, you love a good book. But sometimes, you just can’t seem to find one that grabs your attention. If that’s the case, then I have some good news for you: I’ve found some books like the Red Rising series that are sure to get your heart racing. From dystopian tales of rebellion to space opera sagas, these books will keep you entertained for hours on end. So if you’re looking for something new to read, look no further than this list. You won’t be disappointed.

*This blog post contains affiliate links, this does not affect your purchase – it simply allows me to make money off my small blog*

Let’s Talk About Libro!

Super quick PSA as you read through this post. I’ve discovered an audiobook subscription called Libro. For a monthly fee, you get to choose 1 audiobook a month. What’s the catch? There is NONE. You get no strings attached returns and support local bookstores.

What the f*ck are you waiting for? Check it out for yourself!

Books Like Red Rising Trilogy

Dune by James Herbert

Dune by James Herbert is an undoubtable classic that is a must read for sci-fi lovers. If the planetary space travel in Red Rising is what caught your attention, then Dune will do the exact same. Jessica and Paul are children of Duke Leto of the House of Atreides who was just appointed as governor of Arraki’s, a deserted sand planet that houses one the most valuable spices known to the universe.

Other groups obviously wish to obtain this territory as well, and results in issues with the safety of Leto’s family. War and betrayal ensue on the dirt planet, and many factions take their part in claiming this territory. An amazing and classic read that revolutionized sci-fi literature as we know it.

Dune is one of the best books like Red Rising.

You can find this book on Amazon, or Book Depository

The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein

If you enjoyed the more advanced technology in Red Rising, Robert A. Heinlein’s Science fiction novel The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress would be a perfect read, as we are introduced to an advanced AI system, named Mike, that is designated to run a lunar prison. As it begins to gain consciousness, Mike begins with petty pranks to the staff, and prisoners.

This outburst leads to our protagonist Mannie being tasked to repair Mike’s developed personality. During repairs, Mannie finds himself in the middle of an anti-authority uprising that he gets caught in between, and starts to conspire with the group and reveals them to Mike. A more intense novel that includes the more technological side of science fiction, and just as thrilling as Red Rising.

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is a bestselling young adult science fiction novel that follows Katniss Everdeen. Growing up in a dystopian futuristic society that is divided by districts showing the dark side of classism. Each district is labeled a position of responsibility, where some are more important than others.

Out protagonist Katniss is from district 12, which supplies coal foro the nation. Stricken by poverty, it makes a bad situation worse when you find out that every year 2 residents from each district are randomly chosen to take part in the hunger games. A free for all match to the death between districts.

When Katniss’s younger sister gets unfortunately chosen to be a participant, Katniss does what she needs to ensure her sister’s safety and volunteers to take her place. Similar to Red Rising, The Hunger Games is about the unfair circumstances that are prevalent in a class driven society.

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

Falling Torch by Algis Budrys

In Falling Torch by Algis Burdy, or story Takes place in the 25th century the humans have been attacked and conquered by a humanoid alien race that forced the remaining humans to abandon their home to a rural planet in the Alpha Centauri system to ensure their survival. As time goes on, our remaining survivors thrive as an exiled government, rebuilding their military forces, and creating a sustaining life for themselves.

Although a great feat for the human race, it becomes increasingly evident that some are slowly cutting ties with their own planet as they become more acquainted with alpha centauri, which causes a division between humans. Just like Red Rising, Falling Torch is a classic alien invasion science fiction story with some twists around the corner that has action, rebelion, and revolution all tied together in one story. 

If you’re looking for books like Red Rising, you have to read this.

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro. 

Dystopian Books Like Red Rising

Wool by Hugh Howey

If you’re looking for a book that gives the same kind of feel as Red Rising but also steers on the more dystopian side, Wool by Hugh Howey can definitely deliver on that. A society has been driven deep underground called the Silo due to the toxic surface above them. After generations of life underground in the Silo, it has become normal for the residents below and for anyone who decides to question the outside, is met with punishment by the government.

This cruel punishment is to be ordered to the surface and given the job of cleaning off the cameras to the outside for the residents of Silo to look out. Although the attendants are given gas suits built by the government, this job is promised to be followed with a certain death due to the toxic gas above. The story takes a turn when protagonist Juliette figures out the suits are being purposely tampered with by the government to ensure death on the users.

In order to figure out the truth of the outside, Juliette modifies her own gas suit and sets off as the first person in Silo to leave out of sight from the government’s visuals, and what she finds will change Silo forever. An intense mystery clouded in science fiction, and each revelation is just as shocking as the next, a great read and gripping read.

You can find this book on Amazon or Book Depository

Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The suspenseful underground society in Red Rising is what you can expect from Samantha Shannon’s Bone Season. In the year 2059, the police state of Scion London is a harsh regime that is designed in a way to Prevent the “Unnaturals” from breaching their society. Our protagonist Paige Mahoney is one of those  “Unnaturals,” which are also known as a clairvoyance, living within the police state in secret. Her clairvoyance abilities allow her to enter the dreamscape of other clairvoyants, which is an extremely rare and sought out ability. 

With her existence alone punishable by death, Paige is forced into the underground crime syndicate known as the Seven Dials. During a job that went bust, Paige was caught and outed as a Clairvoyant and sent to prison, awaint a death sentence that happens to all the other “Unnaturals.” Instead, Paige was mysteriously sent to a government facility where she found out secrets about the police state that turns out to be a front for a separate species known as Rephaim that is currently in the middle of an interdimensional war against The Emim.

Instead of killing off the clairvoyants as what was once assumed, paige’s people where being kidnaped and used as soldiers and slaves to aid in this war that noone knows about. Now Paige needs to do what she can to escape this prison alive. 

You can find this book on Amazon or Book Depository

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner by James Dashner is another undoubtedly amazing classic which is a must read if you enjoyed Red Rising. The novel starts off with Thomas, who is awakened in an elevator with no memory or recollection of anything but his first name. Now conscious, he realizes that a group of other boys are helping to get Thomas out by throwing rope down for him to latch on too. Once retrieved from the elevator, which Thomas now known as “The Box” he is brought up to date with the situation everyone is in.

Everyone’s memory was wiped once they arrived at the courtyard, all they know from their limited knowledge is that once a month a new boy appeared in the box every month, the walls in the courtyard are continuously changing at random, and that there are entities roaming in these unknown mazes. Now the boys have to navigate the mazes in order to survive, all the while small bits of information and memory all begin to reveal sinister intentions within their group of survivors. An emmersize read with interesting twists that keep you just as invested as Red Rising.

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

Legend by Marie Lu

The Rivalry against nations shown in Red Rising is always an interesting plot, and in Legend by Marie Lu there is a surplus of that sort of action you’re looking for. Set in a post-war Western United States, now known as the Republic, we are introduced to their classist ridden world where the nation is at constant war with their surrounding countries.

June was born into the highest class of the richest family in the republic, and was raised as the next elite for the military’s faction. On the other end of the spectrum we meet Day. Day is infamously known as the most wanted war criminal in the nation for illegal acts against the Republic that were never intended as malice.

Born in the slums, and doomed to be unsuccessful in the cruel nation. It was never in the cards for these boys to ever meet, although unfortunate events lead to the death of June’s brother, and the top suspect is the war criminal Day. An intense and classic cat and mouse chase ensues between the two. Though, future information that is revealed to the boys shows the truth behind the situation, and begins their journey in figuring out the sinister intentions behind their nation’s tactics. Romance, betrayal, and suspenseful, a read that will hold you from beginning to end.

This book is just like Red Rising in so many ways!

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

Even More Books Like Red Rising

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

If romance in a science fiction setting from Red Rising is what caught your eye, then Delirium by Lauren Oliver is a sure shot. Somewhere along this dystopian future, it’s become mandated by the government to undergo a procedure to be cured from the disease of love once you turn 18 years-old – amor deliria nervosa. This procedure ensures everyone marries through mutual interest and class alone, ridden from the complications of love.

A consequence of this cure is it gets rid of all their compassionate emotions, and leaves the adult in a bland state of limbo. Before officially turning 18, Lena is acquainted with a boy named Alex who she begins having great interest in.

Their interest in each other blooms into a starstruck love that is forbidden by the government. Trying to hide their relationship is proving more difficult everyday, and it’s only a matter of time till one is cured, or they get caught. 

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

A Girl From Nowhere (The Firewall Trilogy, #1) by James Maxwell

If you want to revisit the futuristic dystopian of Red Rising, then A Girl From Nowhere is a perfect read. Set on a wasteland planet that is consistently scorched by two suns named Dex and Lux. Growing up, Taiman continuously fanitisized of a life outside their constant fight against the elements, rovers, and raiders. Raised by his Aunt, Taiman is taught how to live in the wastelands. Hunting, fighting, and traveling through deadly terrains is all he knew.

One day, Taiman finds his aunt killed by raiders, and begins his path towards revenge. Destined to find his aunt’s killers, then find a place for him in this world, Taiman sets off into the wasteland. He eventually runs into a fellow orphan named Selena, who turns out to be a mystic traveling the land in search for a utopia within the ruins she called The White City. Intrigued, Taimin sets off with Selena on a voyage to seek out this little bit of hope in order to find the White City. 

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro

The Atlantis Gene (The Origin Mystery, #1) by A.G Riddle

Another great science fiction story similar to Red Rising is The Atlantis Gene, by A.G Riddler. In this story, Dr. Kate Warner is A geneticist who is in the process of researching the genes of two autistic children, and makes a discovery that unlocks the mysteries of human evolution that will change the course of the human race.

After the autistic children were kidnapped, Dr. Warner finds out her subjects have been abducted by a humanoid race called Immarni that has been around for thousands of years with the main goal of extracting the gene within these children that would aid them in a war against the Atlanteans. Along with this discovery, Dr. Warner along with her partner David vale are thrown into a race to save humankind from becoming Extinct amidst their conflict. 

You can find this book on Amazon or Book Depository

Mistborn by Branden Sanderson

The adventurous and rebellious overcomings found in Red Rising are an intriguing concept that can also be found in the novel Mistborn by Brian Sanders. Our story begins with Vin, a slum raised child who was blessed with allomanic abilities.

Vin was brought up by her brother Reen who taught her to survive on her own in their dystopian society. Vin eventually ends up in the hands of the crime leader known as the Cammon’s crew, who in turn put her into the hands of a group of thieves run by Kelsier. Kelsier’s main goal is to rid themselves from Lord Ruler,  a godlike ruler that has had hold on their civilization for thousands of years.

Vin’s main objective given by Kelsier is to infiltrate and gain information from the nobleman under Lord Ruler. After training with Kelsier, he finds out that Vin is a mistborn similar to himself, which leads him to bestow onto her the ability to take on the Lord Ruler, in hopes she can finish what he has started. A page turning novel that only Branden Sanders can deliver, a fantastic read while immersive and well written.

You’ll definitely want to read Mistborn if you want to read books like Red Rising.

You can find this book on Amazon, Book Depository or listen to the audiobook on Libro. 

If You Liked This Post on Books Like Red Rising..

Did you like this book recommendation list and want more? Well, did you know this is an ongoing series on The Novel Thief? Shocking, right.

Are you looking for books like Where The Crawdads Sing

Perhaps you’re more interested in books like Outlander?

Or maybe you’re in the mood for spicy books like 50 Shades of Grey

Or this post on books like The Giver

Which one of these books is on your to be read list? Comment below!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *